The Road Not Taken

When it comes to making a choice, I have always gone for the well-lit paths in my life. The paths, where I could foresee no danger or complications till some point. The dark ones, on the other hand have always been too scary, where I could not see at all what would be coming next. Every time I tried to take a step forward in that direction, I turned back.

Dark Road, July 24, 2010

I never noticed this tendency of mine until last week when I went out for a walk after dinner. There is a street in my neighborhood which is usually dark and I never used to take it. I always chose the other one.

The usual was about to happen again that day, when I saw someone going in the other direction. I was tempted to try the new way then. I waited for sometime (to confirm there weren’t any dogs or anything unusual there) but I did not hear anything out of place.There was absolute silence.

I thought how bad could it be? I took another step forward. Not a soul seemed to exist. There was some light, thanks to the lamppost nearby otherwise there was absolute darkness ahead. A little scared, I took a few more steps and to my surprise, slowly the darkness descended. It was a lonely road, surrounded with trees having beautiful white flowers, which added their fragrance to the light breeze of the night. On the path, milky moonlight came shimmering down through the trees dispelling all the darkness. It was a silvery effect altogether, making me think of just one thing- Has it been here all this time and I never cared to try?

2470403184_ac6460263aI stood there awestruck for a while and a realization dawned upon me. Had I never tried this road, I would have never encountered this beauty. A step in this direction proved extraordinary, my fear was definitely gone and I got the confidence of taking the unconventional way for once.

In our lives, we are often reluctant to take the road less traveled as we are accustomed to taking the one which has been used since ages. Seldom we try to do something unconventional. We forget that a step towards the one less traveled might lead to something totally unexpected and amazing. So, take that one step and who knows, it might make all the difference!!! 😉

P.S. The incident did remind me of Robert Frost and I know many of you would be reminded of it. So why not read it again! It is a beautiful poem indeed! 🙂

The Road Not Taken
-Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Leave a Reply

